Gumby He Isn’t

Off-the-farm work has simply been eating up my writing time! I’m happy to say, however, that I managed to ride despite the recent weather. Today, under blue skies, with a balmy breezey temperature somewhere in the fifties, Final Call and I went for a jog around the paddock, his hooves squashing into the wet ground, leaving behind black ovals in the clean grass.

And what a jog it was! There are rides that you remember with fondness, like a particularly nice cruise around the southern Caribbean, or a romantic dinner by candlelight, possibly ending with some sort of proposal. There are rides that you remember pleasantly, like a really good movie you’d like to watch again. And then are rides that make you want to beat your head against a wall.

Okay, so it wasn’t that bad. Bless him, it’s not his fault Mummy was watching the 2009 Eventing Nations Cup before she rode. But maybe, just an attempt to bend at the trot, just a teensy little try, wouldn’t have killed him? I’m just saying.

He walked out lovely, I must say. I dropped my stirrups a hole (and it’s amazing how just one inch’s difference can make you completely sore) and managed to get some bend at the walk. But it’s just all another good example of how you can never set your expectations too high. . . or possibly, low enough.

4 Comments

Filed under Dressage, Final Call, Training Diary

4 responses to “Gumby He Isn’t

  1. Barb Fulbright

    Pllus you’d had such a good ride last time. I can relate…

  2. he is trying and if one hole longer made YOU sore…I love your blog and those lovely track brats. Mine is 23 and very routine and care specific!

  3. Hey, if he gave at the walk he’s well on his way to putting all the pieces together later.

    Gabe was the same way about bending…”What? I have to bend my BODY not just my neck? You’re kidding, right?! I…Can’t…DO….IT!” *insert image of a toddler throwing himself to the ground and having a tantrum*

    Lots of ground work in the long reins helped him figure out that yes, the body DOES bend! Miracle of miracles! And getting him to finally figure out when my leg meant made a big difference. *rolls eyes* He may be a lovable character, but he’s not always the sharpest tool in the shed.

    • Natalie Keller Reinert

      Aww our poor widdle babies don’t wanna learn!

      You’re right, the walk was dee-lite-ful. And how many people can say that about a walk?

      This morning I pulled down Centered Riding and reviewed my body position. Going to have to lengthen the stirrups another hole, I think..

Leave a Reply

