Playing Hooky at the Races, Tampa Bay Derby Style

Because Easy Care does not make flipper attachments for the Easy Boot, I chose not to ride Final Call on Saturday.

There’s only so much you can do when it floods. I mean, you can make all the goals in the world, but a paddock that is underwater is what it is.

It was Festival Day at Tampa Bay Downs, with the Tampa Bay Derby as the featured race. So the Union Square horses got a few bales of timothy mix thrown at them, in the driest spot we could find, and it was off to the races.

Sticky Wicket, image of her dam, in the paddock

Sticky Wicket, who is a filly out of our mare Ontherightwicket, ran, and although she had a troubled trip, it was fun to see this beautiful daughter of our favorite mare.

Besides seeing an excellent Derby prospect in the photo finish win of Odysseus, who just caught Schoolyard Dreams and, therefore, my chances at being in the black for the day, it was very cool to meet Jessica and Shari from TROT, which is Tampa Bay Downs’ own affiliate retirement agency. The girls were making very cute ribbons, which just happened to look great on my dress, in teal and black, and I have to say that if we, the Thoroughbred rehabbers of the world, were to vote on colors for our cause, I would push for this combination. It was very eye-catching!

TROT (which stands for Thoroughbred Retirement Of Tampa, Inc.) work closely with the trainers at Tampa Bay Downs and offer horses for adoption for very reasonable fees. Featured on their web site right now is a gorgeous bay named Hook, for only $550! Um, I want!! Oh wait, I have a Thoroughbred out in the field waiting to be taken for his swim… ride, ride, I mean ride.

You can see more photos from the day here, on my Facebook page (public link, no log-in required).

6 Comments

Filed under Outside Sites, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Playing Hooky at the Races, Tampa Bay Derby Style

  1. Barb Fulbright

    She’s gorgeous, dahling!

    • Natalie Keller Reinert

      Right, isn’t she a looker!? Oh, I’d love to have her in my paddock.. but I’ll have to be content with her mother and her little sister 🙂

  2. Oh, great pictures, although I DID assume I’d see a gray cloudy day, seeing’s how you were whining I mean complaining about water in the paddocks.

    Sure looks dry to ME.

    Don’t you LIKE the sound of sploosh, splooosh, squish??

    I know, I’m just kiddin’. Tendons are a little finicky in the slop.
    Or is that slooop?
    Nice to see the Storm Cat progeny living up to the sire’s um, notoriety.

    • Natalie Keller Reinert

      Tampa dries out quickly. They were on the turf too, although She Be Wild did not see fit to grace us with her presence… nor did Mushka… nor did Musket Man… and I’m not AT ALL put out by that.

      You know what I really dislike about Storm Cat? Not the temperament. The swayback. It is going to change the way saddles are made, I swear.

  3. Great blog! I love to see the positive Thoroughbred information!

    • Natalie Keller Reinert

      Thanks Shari! Thank you so much for all the work your group does for Thoroughbreds! We love them here, they are our best friends, and we want the world to know!

Leave a Reply

