Final Call Lives With a Pig!

Final Call

Oh, son!

I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen it with my own eyes.

We are sitting in a Starbucks, taking advantage of free wi-fi and one very sweet glass of iced coffee – seriously, ridiculously, insanely sweet – and I suddenly remembered that about a week ago, I received an e-mail that was too large for my BlackBerry to open. Typically, I’d filed it away and forgotten all about it.

As we leaned over the screen, waiting for the massive picture file to preview, we saw something hairy and black and white and altogether un-Final-Call-like. “Is that. . . a pig. . ?”

Here is the proof:

Final Call and a pig

I told you. A pig.

I miss Final Call. I wish I’d taken Barb’s advice and brought him to New York with me. I wish I rode him on the track every morning. It wasn’t really a financial option, of course. Still, I think about it.

I have a lot of new readers since this blog flipped from OTTB training to racetrack life. If you haven’t read the backstory, Final Call was a five year old Family Calling gelding that I picked up in Ocala in January. The plan had been to blog his training, get him going as an eventer and foxhunter, and maybe sell him a couple of years down the road. In reality, I sold him, with much agony and difficulty, in June, just before we came to New York City. I broke all my rules. I broke the Don’t Fall In Love With a Horse rule. It happens.

But Final Call is clearly a happy camper, and Elizabeth is clearly a good mummy. She writes of Final Call that he is a good and patient teacher, that she is a horse-crazy girl with him, and I know it was all meant to be.

Final Call

Such a perfect horse.

10 Comments

Filed under Final Call, Selling Horses, Success Stories

10 responses to “Final Call Lives With a Pig!

  1. He looks very happy – pig and all!

  2. aawww look at the ponies admiring him in that last pic lol…he does look happy and that’s so great that she lets you know how he’s doing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. So long as he doesn’t eat like his new friend…

    I was suggested to me more than once to get my mare a goat. I guess humans aren’t the only mammals that like to have pets?

    • Natalie Keller Reinert

      A lot of stressed-out horses have found relief with pets. I knew a horse with a mini filly as his pet. Shared a stall and everything! She wasn’t allowed to do anything without his permission! And it helped his chronic ulcer condition – he was a worrier.

      • carrotplease

        heh ๐Ÿ™‚ My boyfriend came to the track with me once to see what the heck it was that I did there, and was totally fascinated by the fact that some horses had pet goats. And some goats had pet cats or chickens. He thought that was about the funniest thing ever ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yay for an awesome Final Call update! Great pictures of a great horse:)

  5. The great French racemare Allez France always travelled with her goat, too. Interesting pig-mentation on that hog!

  6. Love his little porcine companion ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. He does look happy. It must be that the pig has spots. I’ve heard patterns are very soothing. Bar says so, it’s why he likes Lena, though I wouldn’t call her soothing for any other reason.

Leave a Reply

