Also Featured On…

Equine blogging has developed into this amazing community that far surpasses anything I ever expected when I started the Union Square Stables blog a few years ago. A collection of online journals and diaries has turned into sites devoted to reporting the special-interest stories that don’t make the magazines, to sharing training and guidance that are based on real experience and not the latest trends, and to delving deep into the history and passions of our collective love, that mad four-legged beast. All the writers, artists, trainers, enthusiasts, historians, veterinarians, farriers – everyone who is somehow engaged with horses – have something to share, and we do it here.

A year ago, I doubt I would have believed you if you’d told me I’d be a passionate blogger, more devoted to my blog than to any potential income-producing work, and not only sharing all of this with my real name and my real face and admitting that yes, yes, I wrote that but also that I’d write on other blogs, submit my pictures to other blogs, etc. I was always afraid of the trolls, the snarkiness, (words I didn’t even know before I started reading blogs and their destructive comments sections!)

And yet here it is, nine months after Retired Racehorse got its start, and I’ve done a lot of mad things that I never thought I’d do, and I’ve documented and shared them all! And – shockingly – a few other blogs have carried stories on me as well.

Here are three blogs where I’ve been a guest over the course of 2010.

1. Equestrian Ink: Writers of Equestrian Fiction: This is a web site of blog posts written by a whole stable of ladies who write equestrian-themed fiction, from romances to mysteries. In March they were nice enough to post an article I wrote on domination of horses.

2. Off Track Thoroughbreds: I used to be able to “reblog” this blog here, but it’s on a different template now and I can’t figure it out. Anyway, it should be on everyone’s blogroll, and not just because of this particular article, an interview with me. In the past two weeks alone, this blog has featured a trick horse, broodmares, event horses, and outrider ponies – all Thoroughbreds, all OTTBs. Inspirational, to say the least.

3. Historical Horse: What a serendipitous find! Historical Horse is a photo blog – ideally of Old Tymey horse photos. I love these – especially early twentieth-century style-be-damned show hunter photos. I decided to submit my own favorite style-be-damned show photo – my old OTTB and I jumping a Training Level Weldon’s Wall in a most precarious fashion – and plaster my unorthodox jumping style all over the Interwebs. I challenge everyone reading this to do the same! Not only are the photos great, but the writer is pretty damn good as well, and takes the little paragraph I sent describing Macnas and turned it into a thought-provoking statement and horses and how they make us who we are.

Oh, and, speaking of horses who make us who we are… remember this guy? I do.

Final Call, my old OTTB

My pony-face

6 Comments

Filed under Media Coverage, Outside Sites

6 responses to “Also Featured On…

  1. Hey, good writing is good writing, no matter what the subject. You might just have to face the fact that you are one of the good ones:) I love those blogs you posted, and the Historical Horse is great! I need to dig out my kiddie pictures and learn how to scan…
    I’m a peon in the horse blogger world (which is exactly how I like it), but I think it’s an amazing community and I’m proud to be a part of it. Honestly it’s the best resource in the world-rather than googling a particular problem or issue, or posting on some random message board, I can actually communicate with people who know what they’re talking about! Pretty cool.

  2. OMG!!! It’s FC, and he’s smiling!! That makes my day, unless New Owner photo-shopped that grin on his face. What do you hear from him, your former Muse?

  3. Natalie,
    Thank you for mentioning my blog!! It helps a lot.

    I’m disappointed to learn that my big migration to a new host makes re-blogging confusing. Maybe I’ll get that tweaked.

    Anyway, I think it’s great what you’re doing with your riding and writing. You came up in conversation last night in an interview with Barbara Fulbright. She said how encouraging and supportive you were with her efforts, and those of Vince.

    So thanks again!!!

    Sue

Leave a Reply

