My Month Away

I don’t know if I mentioned it before, but I took the entire month of October off. No horses, no nothing.

I wrote. I wrote and I wrote and I wrote. Okay, I did a few other things, too. Explored the city. Settled my son into his new school. Went for walks in Prospect Park. That sort of thing. But I mainly tried out a new routine – what if I was full-time writer? What if I got up in the morning, took the boy to school, and then went to a cafe and wrote for a few hours? Then what if I went home, wrote for a few more?

It was fun, at first.

But you can’t take the horse out of a horse person, can you? You can’t change us. Can the leopard change his spots? Of course not. And while I thought, briefly, what a delightful change! My clothes don’t smell like horse! My boots don’t have manure on them! I can wear them places! I can stay up late at night! I’m a writer! Oh the delight…

It didn’t really last.

Give up what, now?

Because, you know, it’s not like having horse slobber on my sweater ever really bothered me. It’s not like having my ponytail smell like, well, a pony tail, ever really upset me in anyway, or like I ever shied away from going into a public place with manure on my boots.

So it was an experiment, and it was a failed experiment. Because there is no life without horses, no life without hay or horse slobber or even manure. The nagging bits of it, you just have to cope with. I hate going to bed early. I hate getting up early. I do my best writing in the morning, and that’s when track work takes place. Oh well, too bad.

Obsession must be sated, and no one knows obsession like horse people.

4 Comments

Filed under racetrack life

4 responses to “My Month Away

  1. BrooklynSaint

    I don”t feel like you have to choose between the two. Keep trying and I’m sure you will work it out.

  2. I swear horses are covered in cocaine. It’s the only thing that can explain the feeling of euphoria you get when you’re with them and the addictive need to be around them as much as possible.

  3. I don’t think I could have expressed this any better, Natalie.

    I LOVE smelling like horse. I realize not everyone appreciates me smelling that way, so I do try to cater to my professional day job by not changing into my horse clothes until the end of the day, right before I head out to the barn.

    I would love to find a way to combine finance and the earthy scent of horse manure. But if I could do that–spin poo into gold–well, then I wouldn’t need a day job now would I?

  4. Shannon may be onto something Maybe that’s not manure all over my horses from rolling. Maybe it’s something much more insidious.

    Hope you did enjoy writing. I’ve been trying to do more of that myself.

Leave a Reply

