Equestrian Ink–Writers of Equestrian Fiction: Reality vs Escape

Link: Equestrian Ink–Writers of Equestrian Fiction: Reality vs Escape.

This month at Equestrian Ink, I’m writing about my drive to produce realistic fiction. There’s an argument that reading is an escape, a chance to get away from real life… so why do I want to evoke real life with horses so much?

I so enjoyed Laura Crum’s blog post the other day, Research… Or Not?, because that topic has been on my mind a lot lately: how necessary is realism?

I love realism in my entertainment. I hear the argument that books are an escape, but I’m not so sure that I read books to escape. I think I read books looking for greater understanding of my own world, searching for like-minded folks to see how they’re handling the same struggles I am facing, hoping to find a kindred spirit amongst the masses.

I’m always looking for the nuggets of truth.

Read it and let me know what you think! Also, if you’ve read The Head and Not The Heart, was it too detailed? Not detailed enough? Just right? I’d love to know.

2 Comments

Filed under Outside Sites, writing

2 responses to “Equestrian Ink–Writers of Equestrian Fiction: Reality vs Escape

  1. I speed read over the details when they go on and on. I’m in the beginning of your book, I’ll let you know what I think. 🙂

  2. It was juuuuuust right. Not too hot, not too cold. Perfect:)

Leave a Reply

