Tall dark and handsome at the Trainer Challenge

I am not a person who has a lot of time for TV, and I normally avoid YouTube at all costs, lest I spent all afternoon watching cross-country videos, but I am genuinely fascinated with the Retired Racehorse Trainer Challenge and  I want to follow it as closely as possible.

There are videos up of each of the four horses that will be used in the Challenge, and the most recently chosen horse is Four X The Trouble. He’s replacing Bodiddle, who is going to spend some more time off at Dodon Farm before they decide how much training they’ll be putting into him.

Here is the video of Four X The Trouble:

First off, how wonderful is his owner/breeder for following her babies, breeding to sporthorse bloodlines, and just generally being responsible?

I’m kind of in love with this horse and want to put him in my living room. Tall, dark, and handsome, with a face full of brains, a chest full of heart, and a butt shaped like an apple, he’s everything I could ever want in a horse and then some. And the vanity! If you don’t have eight and a half minutes to spend, at least fast-forward to 5.39 and watch Trouble get a load of himself in the mirror.

Movement wise he looks like he has a ton of scope and he moves very strongly from behind. Like a lot of new OTTBs he doesn’t use his shoulder as well as he could and so his trot in front is a bit knee-high, but with that tremendous hind end I’m sure he could be taught to rock back and swing from the shoulder. Dressage? Show jumping? What do you think?

*Just in case of link problems, here is the Retired Racehorse YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/retiredracehorse

7 Comments

Filed under Media Coverage, Outside Sites, Retired Racehorse Trainer Challenge

7 responses to “Tall dark and handsome at the Trainer Challenge

  1. I love him! I think it is especially cool that he is a dark liver chestnut. He really does have a fabulous hind end, for sure. I think his gaits will improve a lot when he learns how to use his back. His topline is undeveloped, like a lot of young ex-racehorses I’ve seen, but he is just a handsome ball of potential. I bet he could do anything. I’d love to see what he ends up doing! You and I have similar taste in horses, I think!

  2. laura h

    Actually, he might be the nicest that I’ve seen so far in the challenge.

  3. Hello, handsome… want to come to my barn?? Oh, wait. Bar would pout. A lot. Actually.. Steve and I watched it and laughed so hard at Trouble’s antics. Soo much like Bar. I may have to work Bar near a mirror to see what happens.

  4. Meredith

    I just started an OTTB who is also fascinated with himself in the mirrors. After 3 weeks, if I let him walk on a loose rein, he still heads straight to the mirror to stare at himself 🙂

  5. Michelle

    Thank you so very much for sharing this with us. I am learning that there are more and more resources for OTTB owners and trainers.

    I am so happy to have found your site.

Leave a Reply

