Other People’s Horses

I could have entitled this “Where I’ve Been” or “Sorry to have gone missing” but I am taken with Other People’s Horses. For one thing, it is the title to the “sequel” to The Head and Not The Heart. So get excited about THAT. But for another, I have been spending my days taking care of other people’s horses, and that’s why the blog has been taking a vacation.

Most of you know me from Facebook or Twitter or even (gasp) real life, and so you know that I’m a freelance writer with two identical desks, one in my living room overlooking the lower Manhattan skyline, one in my bedroom facing a blank wall (that’s like, my punishment desk, the one I have to go to when I spend too much time staring out at cars and trains and airplanes and the occasional person crossing the avenue on a pogo stick — yes this has happened; this is Brooklyn, after all) and that I write constantly, all day, obsessively, risking carpal tunnel syndrome with every keystroke, whether it’s fiction or non-fiction.

I love writing and I love writing Retired Racehorse Blog with all my heart. We reach people here, we change minds here, we help horses here. This is an important piece of the Thoroughbred Revolution and it’s not going anywhere.

Clydesdale horse

You'd melt and give in if they let you ride this horse, too. Photo: J. Baker

But I had an opportunity I couldn’t refuse — you know the type — to work for the Parks Department mounted unit. They sort of played unfairly at the interview. I went in with mixed feelings, yeah yeah I could muck stalls and feed horses for you, or I could sit home and write about them, not sure which is better, and then they put me on a Clydesdale and sent me out on a little jaunt through Central Park. Not. Fair. What was I supposed to do? Refuse the opportunity to ride draft horses in Central Park? Is that some kind of joke?

So they ensnared me with their shiny horses and their Frederick Law Olmsted park and their easy subway access. I had to do it.

What does this mean for Retired Racehorse Blog? A couple of things, one of which I have really wanted to implement, anyway.

First, quicker entries and occasional lengthy tirades of opinion from me. I don’t have that much time to write, and projects like The Daughter of Horses, Other People’s Horses, and Ambitious Riders are screaming for my time. A reader commented on my Facebook page that she’d like me to concentrate more on my novels than my blogging, and honestly, that’s what I’d like to do, as well.

Second, and this is something I’ve been hoping to get into place for some time, more contributors will be joining Retired Racehorse on regular or occasional basis. There will be more success stories, training articles, and opinion from people besides me. It’s going to make Retired Racehorse a stronger, more all-around location to find information about OTTBs. It’s going to incorporate more than just my opinion. One of the reasons why I changed the banner of the website from “Retired Racehorse Blog” to simply “Retired Racehorse” is that I wanted to slowly step away from the blog format and move towards the magazine format.

Third, there will be a publishing arm to Retired Racehorse that will be debuting in the next few months. This has been in the works for some time, and while it is moving more slowly now, it isn’t going away. The first ebook release from Retired Racehorse will be coming soon, and you’re going to like it. Following that, we’ll be releasing OTTB success stories. There will be an all-call for OTTB stories in the future, so be prepared! 

If you want to be a part of Retired Racehorse, you can always email me at nkreinert@nyc.rr.com. You don’t have to be a novelist. You don’t have to be a blogger. You don’t even have to be good at Facebook statuses. Lord knows I’m not. You just have to have something to say. You’re in luck: I’m an editor. Editors pretty up writing, put in the commas and the paragraph breaks and the missing modifiers. If you’ve got a peeve and you need a soap-box, if you’ve got an idea and you need a platform, if you’ve got a great story or training method that’s going to help horsemen and horses and you need someone to get it out there for you, Retired Racehorse is here.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Other People’s Horses

  1. michelle stein

    Natalie, what a wonderful opportunity for you. I am so happy to hear about your upcoming novel and the new publishing arm.

    I would love to help and be a part of it in any way that I can.

    Thank you so very much.

    • Thanks Michelle. It’s definitely not the kind of thing you can turn down. I’m just trying to figure out how to fit into the rest of my life! I was already working full-time! Two full-time jobs plus a family, yikes! But it’s all worth it.

      Your comments and input are always welcome. You can always email me at nkreinert@nyc.rr.com.

  2. Jim Culpepper

    I always longed for a small herd of Suffolk Punch mares to work the farm I never quite got.

  3. Fiona Farrell

    Irresistible. All of it. The job offer. The horses (wow, those are some gleaming white feathers — up to you now?). The magazine developments. The publishing developments. The novels. couch potatoes need not apply. Big smiles, happy for you, for all of us who get to read and write with you.

  4. Julie Frykman

    Excited for you and Retired Racehorse! I know I get so much out of reading this and can only imagine you’ll make it better! I’m ready to put in my 2 cents of the OTTB highs/lows I’ve experienced as a first timer with a fresh OTTB gelding, whenever needed 🙂 Blessings for great and inspiring new experiences!

  5. Christy Heffner

    Congratulations! What an incredible opportunity. Enjoy!!!

  6. I can really say you’re a great writer. No wonder you have great opportunities ahead of you. I am looking forward for the first ebook release from Retired Racehorse. Good luck and God Bless…

  7. OMG to all of it! sorry I’m late to the party, look what happens. All great news. Applause!!

    And yes, I think coercion by Clydesdale is a misdemeanour. But way cool!