Getting over the first horse show

The first horse show.

In Classic Fashion was ready for his dressage career... and his first show.

It can be a scary experience, horse showing. Even with a seasoned old-timer, there is always an underlying tension. Something could happen to throw off the balance, and all hell could break loose. Another horse throwing a fit could set off your horse. A thunderstorm could blow through and knock over all the jump standards while you’re in the ring for your round. (Why yes, this has happened to me.)

First-timers with OTTBs are often nervous, and with good reason. There’s an expectation that an OTTB will take one look at all those horse trailers, see the strange horses and people milling around, hear the loudspeakers, and make an educated guess: “Ah, a race!” and respond accordingly with lots of excited bouncing, piaffe-ing, possibly a little capriole-ing for good measure if they are feeling particularly athletic and competitive. You can’t blame them for it; in fact, if you’re particularly confident in your seat, you might be inclined to just laugh down at them. It is kind of cute, if it isn’t dangerous, all that rubber-ball-bouncing they like to do.

Of course, they won’t all react like this. Some will fall off the trailer, pass out asleep hanging from their lead-rope while tied to the trailer, and rack up 45 time penalties while cantering around the cross-country course.  But we should all be so lucky. Mine have always gone for the starting-gate routine, and that’s what I’ve learned to expect.

I got a message last month from a rider who was looking for some advice after a particularly difficult first-show experience. It wasn’t just the show: it was everything, door to door.

Julie wrote that she’s had her first OTTB for a year. “He’s an awesome trail horse, learning dressage beautifully, and I love him.” Julie’s been around horses her whole life, but Calvin was her first jump from trail riding and stock horses to dressage training and Thoroughbreds. “I felt confident due to having started a lot of babies from scratch,” she mentions. Nothing like babies to give you a solid seat!

A sweet trail horse and an adorable dressage horse.

She found an OTTB with a nice little record: 25 starts, 6 wins, 4 places, and 5 shows, with earnings of $88,885, and a passport stamped by Presque Isle Downs, Colonial Downs, Laurel Park, Gulfstream, Churchill Downs, and Arlington.

“Calvin was on a lay-up farm after bowing in the fall of his 6-year-old year. My trainer recently told me that normally two greenies don’t make a good match, but that Calvin and I make it work and that he’s taught me so much. Since he has no clue what I’m asking, if I don’t learn to ask correctly, we’re not going to get it right! At times I’ve felt intimidated, in over my head, and my patience tested. But when I get it right he rewards me with relaxation, beauty, and a glow on my face that lasts for days!

“He was almost immediately a fabulous trail partner. He has little spook, and is brave. Our first trail ride he plowed through water, crossed a wooden bridge without hesitation, and walk-trot-canters controllably!”

Finally, Julie decided to take Calvin to an open show to introduce him to the atmosphere.

“Unfortunately, the trailer ride was a solo ride, we were in stand still traffic due to a very smokey fire, passing motorcyle rally, etc. He came off the trailer upset! Then the venue had a car show going on and was actually very loud (they had blasting speakers over the horse stall area!) Needless to say he was beside himself.

“I hand-walked him with a chain over his nose for 45 minutes until he calmed a bit. Then put him in a stall to go register for an in-hand class. While I was gone the drill team performed to Bon Jovi. The stall area was loud like a live concert! He lost it and began pawing, kicking the walls, and trying to CLIMB out.”

(I would have done the same thing if I’d had to listen to a drill team performing to Bon Jovi. Editor out.)

“I came back, talked and stroked him until it was over. I didn’t take him out in fear of losing control of him in a large crowd with children. When it was over I began hand-walking him again but he never regained his (relative) calmness. We did the in-hand trail class and he rocked it! Then left after being there about 2.5 hours.”

Phew! What bad luck for Calvin! I suggested a nice quiet outing with lots of walking around for his next off-farm experience, if not his next two or three off-farm experiences.

Julie wrote back that she’d found a quiet venue holding a dressage show, and she was going to take Calvin there to walk around the warm-up ring. “Short, sweet, but with expectation to behave and then rewarded by coming home quickly.”

Sounds like a plan. A few days later, I got this update:

Calvin at the dressage show

Relaxing in the warm-up ring, at last!

“The dressage schooling show was a much better experience! I gave him SmartCalm paste to take the edge off. We trailered without incident and arrived to a beautiful and calm environment. We lunged in the indoor by ourselves to get acquainted to the venue and then headed out to the warm-up ring.

“He began jigging and whinnying. So I started by just walking him in hand around, and around, and around until he calmed. We did many, many halts and often times backing because he was walking on me or refusing to halt. Almost an hour of that and he calmed enough to get on his back. Then my trainer hand walked him with me on…yes very embarrassing to be a 34-year-old woman being lead-lined at a dressage show! What we do to train our beloved OTTB’s! 

“We finally were able to school once he stopped jigging and trying to walk on her, I got him on the aids and beauty!! People were stopping to watch, comment, and even ask if he was for sale!! I proudly talked up my boy and his former life. People on their warmbloods were awestruck by his beauty. Can’t wait until he can show them his real moves in a few more outings.”

What a great experience to counter the first one! It was great to hear how Julie worked slowly with Calvin and helped him chill out enough to do a little work in the arena. Thanks so much Julie, and best of luck to you and In Classic Fashion! I hope we hear from you again in the future.

2 Comments

Filed under Dressage, OTTB Stories, Success Stories

2 responses to “Getting over the first horse show

  1. Sarah

    In Classic Fashion…he also has a wonderful papered name and I hope you will keep it!

    Thoroughbred Exhibitors Assoc. in the PNW started in 1977 and we believe Thoroughbreds can do it all! Nice to see you trail ride and also think (show trail) so few people school their horses and then complain. I look forward to seeing your progress!
    I have shown my racing TB’s in between race weekends! My breed of choice, I love them and understand them, not for everybody or every rider (you can’t treat them the way many breeds are treated) BOOM! They love people and need a loving partner, they are bred to give their heart and they do if they love you.

    S

    • Julie Frykman

      Hi Sarah,
      I love it too! I initially thought I would rename him, thinking new life/new name. Calvin Klein was a play on words of his name-“classic fashion” for men. I have a BS in Fashion so a little dorky I know 🙂 As I fell in love with him I decided if/when he wins that blue ribbon I want everyone to hear his given name and know he IS a former racehorse! (as I tear up, ugh!)
      We recently had a slight set back. We went to a park we’ve previously had a great trail ride experience at. This outing there was a soccer team practicing nearby. As soon as Calvin got off the trailer he focused in on them and I didn’t get him back until after an hour of hand walking, rearing at corrections, lungeing, and both of us a sweaty mess! We then rode that evening AND came back 2 days later to the same place when it was calm & quiet and did it again! I’m not giving up…sometimes it’s 1 step forward with 3 steps back…but we’re doing it either way! 😐
      Thanks for the well wishes!!!