Sunday Book Review: A Kid’s Guide to Getting a Horse

Well, not exactly as listed in title.

As much as fun as A Kid’s Guide to Getting a Horse would be to write, and please excuse that glaring light as I try to adjust the lightbulb that has just materialized over my head, but think of what it could be, a Happy Horsemanship for whatever generation we’re up to now, the Z Generation or the Annoying-As-Crap Generation or whatever we’re calling the kids these days, with suggestions on how to utilize SEO websites and Kickstarter in order to procure your VERY OWN HORSE, crowd-funding movies you can write, direct, film, and post to your own YouTube channel in order to pay board and show fees… it’s getting very digital age of ponies in here.

BUT ANYWAY.

Wish Upon A Horse. Barnes & Noble would like you to read it instantly. INSTANTLY!!!!

Wish Upon A Horse explains a more sure-fire way to procure a horse, if not how to pay for it. Surely you can still mow lawns and baby-sit in this enlightened age. Figure it out, kids. And read this book.

When I was a kid, I read all of Maggie Dana’s stories about Timber Ridge over and over. But the one that I read the most was the original version of “Wish Upon a Horse.” It was my personal Guide to Getting a Horse.

You see, as fun as the other books were, none of them really offered a concrete way to get me off my bike and into a saddle.

I checked the classifieds daily, but there were never any ads seeking young girls to move into a trainer’s house to act as a companion for another girl. And I doubt my parents would have been impressed if I’d actually found one. My parents were most definitely not in the absentee butterfly-scientist category. No sir, I was going to need good old-fashioned money to find a horse. And that seemed even more difficult to find than a nice convenient gig as a pre-teen companion.

But an auction, now… an auction! Cheap horses, and even better SAD looking horses, because nothing was more apt to open a recalcitrant pocketbook than a pair of soulful brown eyes blinking out of a muddy, skinny, neglected body.

“Wish Upon a Horse” gives us more adventures with Kate and Holly, who are more determinedly than ever best friends, despite their different personalities: Kate is still wary of Chapstick, and Holly still wants to give her a Glamour-Shots-style makeover. (Kate and Holly prove that horses can bring anyone together.) That’s delightful enough. But as I could have told you when I was thirteen and the proud owner of a cheap, skinny, dirty, soulful-eyed Thoroughbred, “Wish Upon a Horse” is also a great Guide to Getting a Horse.

Parents beware.

Kids, take notes.

WISH UPON A HORSE is HERE:

And HERE:

icon
icon

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews

One response to “Sunday Book Review: A Kid’s Guide to Getting a Horse

  1. I started working at 14 towards that first horse and read every book possible. Just when I’d about given up (the ripe old age of 50) and started selling off those “How to” books on ebay, Harley came into my life (thank you, John). I think my favorite kids books were these ancient British ones: A Pony For Jean, and then, Another Pony For Jean. Because, as we all know, every girl in Britain has a pony!